Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Placemaking Highlights innovative ways that communities create unique public spaces.   Placemaking projects are often on a smaller scale, and help attract and retain talent, residents and businesses by providing a sense of community and place. 

Eligibility: No Special Eligibility Requirements

Redevelopment Projects Recognizes innovative community redevelopment projects.

Eligibility: No Special Eligibility Requirements

Career Achievement Award Recognizes an outstanding local government administrator who has: • fostered representative democracy by enhancing the effectiveness of local elected officials and by consistently • demonstrated a commitment to the development of the profession, especially through involvement in ICMA/OCMA.

Eligibility: OCMA Membership • a minimum of 10 years of senior-level service to the profession within the State of Ohio.

Career Development / Mentoring Award Honors a OCMA member who has made a significant contribution to the development of new talent in professional local government management.

Eligibility: OCMA Membership

Innovation in Local Government Award Recognizes one or more local governments that have successfully applied the concepts of reinvention, reengineering, TQM, customization, or other cutting-edge organizational tools in the delivery of public services.

Eligibility: Program(s) MUST must be fully implemented for at least one full year.

Citizen Participation Award Recognizes successful strategies designed to inform citizens about the local government services available to them and to include citizens in the process of community decision making. The award concentrates on such areas as community consensus building and adult (non student) citizenship education.

Eligibility: Program(s) MUST must be fully implemented for at least one full year.

Intergovernmental Cooperation Award Recognizes outstanding programs developed out of cooperative actions or strategic partnerships between at least two jurisdictions or between a jurisdiction and a nonprofit agency established by a jurisdiction.

Eligibility: Program(s) MUST must be fully implemented for at least one full year.

Profiles in Courage Award Recognizes truly effective leadership in unusual circumstances. Examples include: 1) a community devastated by a natural disaster and through truly effective leadership by the manager, the community is able to rebound effectively; and 2) an unusual personal tragedy that a manager is able to overcome and still provide effective leadership and service to the community.

Eligibility: No eligibility requirements.